Human Resources Committee

The Human Resources Committee works to provide members with the information needed to effectively manage their human capital investment, regardless of organizational size. Compliance with federal and state employment statutes, the opportunity to implement best practices mutually beneficial to both the employee and employer, and the need to embrace employee recruitment and retention efforts is important to insurance agents and all companies alike.

The Committee works closely with Headquarters staff to ensure timely updates are made to the Employee Handbook, downloadable from the AAMGA website. The Committee also works closely with the University Director to develop relevant classes on human resource related topics. The annual University East event has a dedicated HR track which includes courses developed and delivered by many members of the committee.

The AAMGA University is currently a recognized provider of SHRM (Society of Human Resource Management) credit which can be applied to required continuing education credit needed to maintain both the PHR (Professional in Human Resources) and the SPHR (Senior) Designations.

It is vitally important for the wholesale community to work together and advance employment related issues. One of the AAMGA’s greatest strengths is the trusted relationships among members who, through networking and other contacts, look to one another for advice and recommendations on solving problems. The Human Resources Committee is dedicated to making it easier to share HR knowledge among members.

Click here to participate on the AAMGA’s Human Resources Committee

Members of the 2013-2014 AAMGA Human Resources Committee are

Board Liaison

Edward Levy, CIW
Risk Placement Services, Inc.
480-860-5597
ed_levy@rpsins.com

Vice Chair

Ed Colby
Nautilus Insurance Group
480-367-5356
ecolby@nautilus-ins.com

Chair

Lisa Van Leuvan
Metcom Excess, CMGA
201-641-5100
lavl@metcomexcess.com

Members

Leah Barr
Hanover Excess & Surplus, Inc., CMGA
910-762-7109
leahb@hanoverxs.com

Ken Distel
Joseph Distel & Company, Inc.
860-677-6505
kdistel@distelgroup.com

Sharon Emek
Work At Home Vintage Employees, LLC
646-807-4372
sharon.emek@wahve.com

Cheryl Golla
Myron F. Steves & Company, CMGA
713-639-6210
cgolla@myronsteves.com

Rick Pitts
Arlington/Roe & Co., Inc.
317-554-8550
rpitts@arlingtonroe.com

Donna McCole-Rodriguez
Jimcor Agencies, CMGA
201-573-8200 x1136
dmccole-rodriguez@jimcor.com

Sandy Schrank
Delta General Agency Corp.
713-570-2700
sandys@deltains.com

Linda Shames
General Star Management Co.
203-328-5402
linda.shames@generalstar.com

Teresa Vaughn, SPHR
Johnson & Johnson, Inc., CMGA
843-577-1494
tv@jjins.com

Marian Y. Woods
Maxum Specialty Insurance Group
678-597-4703
mwoods@mxmsig.com